Home › Guides › beehiiv website builder (2026)
Ad disclosure: we earn a commission if you sign up through links marked paid link, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are by cost only. Details
beehiiv website builder (2026): what's free, custom domain, page limits per plan and what it costs
Last verified against official pricing pages · published 1 Nov 2026
Prices change often. Each price was checked on the platform's official pricing page on the date shown; plans, promos and taxes vary. Confirm on the official site before you buy. Not financial advice.
Short answer: yes, the beehiiv website builder is free. Every publication gets a hosted website on a beehiiv subdomain that goes live automatically, with templates, subscribe forms, a link-in-bio page and 1 published custom page on the Free plan. To put it on your own domain you need a paid plan (Lite, from $59/month at up to 1,000 subscribers, monthly billing), and to remove beehiiv branding you need Pro (from $109/month). beehiiv states no traffic or bandwidth limit.
Every rule on this page is from beehiiv's own pricing page, Website Builder page and help center (listed under Sources, checked 2026-11-01). Where beehiiv's pages disagree we show both; where beehiiv publishes nothing we say "not stated by beehiiv". Plan prices from data/pricing.json (checked 2026-10-27, same figures as beehiiv's page on 2026-11-01). No platform pays us for this page; some buttons elsewhere on the site are paid links.
beehiiv website features by plan
| Website feature | Free | Lite | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (monthly billing, 1,000 subscribers) | $0 | $59 | $109 |
| Website, hosting, templates, subscribe forms, link-in-bio | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Published custom pages | 1 | 5 | Unlimited |
| Custom domain | No (beehiiv subdomain) | Yes | Yes |
| Advanced Website Builder (drag-and-drop + AI chat) | Build, but publish needs a paid plan* | Yes | Yes |
| Site redirects | None | 10 | Unlimited |
| Website analytics | Last 30 days, no filters or data charts | Full charts; "All data" (pricing) vs "up to 12 months" (help) | Full, all date filters |
| beehiiv branding | beehiiv branding stays | beehiiv branding stays | Can remove beehiiv branding |
| Custom robots.txt, AI bot control | No | No | Yes (custom robots.txt, AI bot control) |
| Google AdSense on your site | No | No | Yes |
From the "Website" table on beehiiv pricing, plus custom page limits, redirect limits, website analytics and AdSense. *Only for publications created on or after September 21, 2026; older publications keep publishing access (beehiiv). Enterprise (custom price) matches Pro here. The pricing page's short Free plan summary lists "Custom Domains" and "AI Website Builder", but its own feature table and the custom domain and AI chat help articles say paid plans; we show the stricter reading. Lite analytics history: "All data" in the pricing table, "up to 12 months" in the help article.
What a beehiiv website costs
There is no separate website fee. The site comes with your beehiiv plan, and beehiiv prices plans by newsletter subscribers, not by pages or visitors. So the cost of a site on your own domain is simply the cheapest paid plan for your list:
| Subscribers | Free | Lite (own domain) | Pro (no branding) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 | $0 (subdomain) | $59 | $109 |
| 1,000 | $0 (subdomain) | $59 | $109 |
| 2,500 | $0 (subdomain) | $79 | $149 |
| 5,000 | n/ | $109 | $199 |
| 10,000 | n/ | $139 | $239 |
Per month, monthly billing, USD; yearly billing is cheaper (see beehiiv pricing). Free covers up to 2,500 subscribers (see beehiiv free plan). The domain name itself is bought from a registrar and isn't included. For comparison, Substack charges a one-time $50 for a custom domain on its free plan (Substack custom domain, with Ghost, Kit and Buttondown too).
Website Builder vs Advanced Website Builder
- Website Builder (the default for publications created on or after September 21, 2026): guided setup, you pick a template, colors and fonts (with an optional "Generate with AI" suggestion) and the site is live in minutes. Customization stays within the template (beehiiv).
- Advanced Website Builder: drag-and-drop editor with full control over layout and styling, AI chat that builds or edits sections from a prompt (beehiiv), HTML blocks (editor limit 50,000 characters per page, beehiiv). For new publications, publishing an Advanced design needs a paid plan.
- Switching: only one design is live at a time; the other stays as a draft and nothing is deleted. You can copy a Website Builder design into Advanced, but not back.
Pages, custom HTML and redirects
- Built-in pages (home, posts, archive, subscribe, and upgrade/product pages on paid plans) update from your newsletter on their own and don't count toward the limit (beehiiv).
- Custom pages: create as many as you like, publish 1 on Free, 5 on Lite, unlimited on Pro. When a free trial ends, extra custom pages are unpublished (beehiiv).
- Custom HTML pages count toward the same limit and can hold up to 512 KB (beehiiv).
- Redirects (useful when you move an old site to beehiiv): 10 on Lite, unlimited on Pro, with wildcards; automatic redirects from renamed pages don't count (beehiiv).
Custom domain on beehiiv
On a paid plan, go to Settings → Domains → Set up custom domain, enter a web domain (beehiiv recommends a subdomain like www.yoursite.com), optionally turn on the root-domain redirect, and add the DNS records it shows. Once the custom domain is live, your old yourpublication.beehiiv.com address redirects to it and keeps the full URL path, so existing post links still work (beehiiv). If you're moving an existing site, old page addresses don't carry over by themselves, so set up redirects.
SEO and analytics
SEO settings (indexing, meta tags, post schema) are on every plan; Pro and Enterprise with a custom domain add AI crawl control, and Pro and Enterprise get more detailed per-post AEO (schema) settings (beehiiv). Website analytics: Free shows graphs for the last 30 days without filter options or data charts; Lite gets full graphs and charts with up to 12 months of history; Pro and Enterprise get all date filters; a free trial gets everything (beehiiv).
Related: beehiiv free plan · Substack custom domain · beehiiv podcast hosting · Is beehiiv worth it? · beehiiv pricing · beehiiv vs Substack · beehiiv vs Ghost
Sources
- beehiiv pricing ("Website" feature table, plan summaries and prices) and beehiiv Website Builder page, checked 2026-11-01
- beehiiv help, builder (checked 2026-11-01): Website Builder vs Advanced, Your website's pages, Pages in Advanced Website Builder, Custom HTML page, HTML in Advanced Website Builder, AI chat, Link-in-bio, Publishing
- beehiiv help, settings (checked 2026-11-01): Custom domain, Redirects, SEO settings, Website analytics, Google AdSense
We earn a commission from some links, at no extra cost to you.
See beehiiv plans paid link See Substack plans See Ghost plans
Links marked “paid link” earn us a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you. They never change our numbers or rankings. Disclosure.
FAQ
Is the beehiiv website builder free?
Yes. Every beehiiv publication, including on the Free plan, gets a website that goes live automatically during setup, on a beehiiv subdomain (yourpublication.beehiiv.com). Free lets you publish 1 custom page plus the built-in pages (home, posts, subscribe and so on), with basic analytics for the last 30 days.
Can I use my own domain with beehiiv for free?
No. beehiiv's help article and the feature table on its pricing page put custom domains on paid plans (Lite and up; Lite starts at $59/month with monthly billing at up to 1,000 subscribers). The short Free plan summary on the same pricing page does list "Custom Domains", so the page contradicts itself; we follow the feature table and the help article. Buying the domain itself is separate: beehiiv doesn't sell domains.
How many pages can I have on a beehiiv website?
You can create unlimited custom pages, but you can only publish 1 on Free, 5 on Lite and an unlimited number on Pro and Enterprise. Custom HTML pages count toward the same limit and can hold up to 512 KB each. Built-in pages like posts, archive and subscribe don't count.
What is the difference between the Website Builder and the Advanced Website Builder?
Website Builder is the guided one: pick a template, colors and fonts and publish. Advanced Website Builder is a drag-and-drop editor with AI chat and full layout control. Publications created on or after September 21, 2026 start on Website Builder, and for them publishing an Advanced Website Builder design needs a paid plan. Older publications keep publishing access.
Can I remove "beehiiv" branding from my website?
Only on Pro (or Enterprise). The pricing page lists "Remove beehiiv Branding" as a Pro feature, not included in the free trial. Lite and Free keep beehiiv branding on the newsletter and the website.
Does beehiiv have a link-in-bio page?
Yes. beehiiv says all users can create a link-in-bio site for free. Selling digital products from it needs a paid plan.
Can I run Google AdSense on a beehiiv website?
Yes, on Pro and Enterprise only, with the Advanced Website Builder, per beehiiv's AdSense help article.
Does beehiiv limit website traffic or bandwidth?
Not stated by beehiiv. Its pricing page lists web hosting on every plan and prices plans by newsletter subscribers; we found no page-view, bandwidth or storage limit in its pricing page or help center.
Related guides: beehiiv price increase 2026 · Is beehiiv worth it in 2026? Break-even vs Substack, Kit and MailerLite · How newsletter platform prices changed 2023–2026 (from archived pricing pages) · beehiiv vs Kit vs Substack (2026) · beehiiv podcast hosting (2026) · Moving from beehiiv to Kit · Moving from beehiiv to MailerLite · Substack vs beehiiv vs Ghost · all guides
Comparisons: beehiiv vs Substack · Substack vs Ghost · beehiiv vs Ghost · Cheapest for 500, 1,000, 2,500, 5,000, 10,000, 25,000 subscribers
Get alerted when beehiiv changes its prices
We re-check beehiiv's and every other newsletter platform's pricing page each week and email you the before/after numbers when a price, limit or fee changes. Plus one monthly cost report. Free. What you get →
Recently flagged: Kit: 25% off the first year of Pro on annual billing (limited-time offer) (20 Oct 2026) · beehiiv renames plans and raises prices (Scale → Lite, Max → Pro) (1 Oct 2026)