NewsletterPricing

Home › Guides › beehiiv API pricing (2026)

Ad disclosure: we earn a commission if you sign up through links marked paid link, at no extra cost to you. Rankings are by cost only. Details

beehiiv API pricing (2026): is the API free, rate limits, webhooks and Send API by plan

Last verified against official pricing pages · published 1 Nov 2026

Prices change often. Each price was checked on the platform's official pricing page on the date shown; plans, promos and taxes vary. Confirm on the official site before you buy. Not financial advice.

Short answer: the beehiiv API itself is free on every plan, including the Free plan (up to 2,500 subscribers). beehiiv lists no API price and no per-call fee. What changes with the plan: the rate limit (30 requests/minute on Free, 180 on Lite, 500 on Pro, 800 on Enterprise), webhooks (from Lite, $59/month) and the Send API for creating and sending posts (Pro and Enterprise, from $109/month at up to 1,000 subscribers, monthly billing).

Every rule on this page is from beehiiv's own pricing page, developer docs and help center (listed under Sources, checked 2026-11-01). Where beehiiv's pages disagree we show both; where beehiiv publishes nothing we say "not stated by beehiiv". Plan prices from data/pricing.json (checked 2026-10-27, same figures as beehiiv's page on 2026-11-01). No platform pays us for this page; some buttons elsewhere on the site are paid links.

beehiiv API features by plan

API featureFreeLiteProEnterprise
Price at up to 1,000 subscribers (monthly billing)$0$59$109Custom
API access (subscribers, posts, segments, etc.)Yes (excluding Send API)Yes (excluding Send API)YesYes
Rate limit (requests per minute)30 (Low)180 (Standard)500 (High)800 (Custom, more on request)
WebhooksNone3UnlimitedUnlimited
Send API (create and send posts)NoNoYesYes
Publication-specific API keysNo (keys reach every publication)YesYesYes
Digital products API / purchase webhooksNoNoYes (products API + purchase webhooks)Yes
beehiiv MCP (AI tools)Read accessWrite accessWrite accessWrite access
S3 Data Sync (nightly event export)NoNoNoPaid add-on (price not stated)

Sources: pricing page ("Platform & Integrations" and digital products tables, plan summaries), rate limiting, webhooks, Create post, publication-specific keys ("All Paid Plans"), S3 integrations.

What the API costs you at your list size

Because beehiiv prices plans by newsletter subscribers, not by API calls, the API cost is simply the cheapest plan that has the feature you need:

Subscri­bersAPI only (read/write subscribers, posts)+ webhooks (Lite)+ Send API (Pro)
1,000$0 (Free)$59$109
2,500$0 (Free)$79$149
5,000$109 (Lite)$109$199
10,000$139 (Lite)$139$239
25,000$199 (Lite)$199$349

Per month, monthly billing, USD. Yearly billing is cheaper (Lite $49/mo and Pro $95/mo at 1,000, see beehiiv pricing). Free covers up to 2,500 subscribers (see beehiiv free plan); above that the cheapest plan with API access is Lite. A higher rate limit (500 vs 180 requests/minute) is another reason to pick Pro.

Rate limits in detail

Send API: what it can and can't do

API keys, webhooks and no-code tools

Related: beehiiv pricing · beehiiv free plan · Is beehiiv worth it? · beehiiv website builder · beehiiv podcast hosting · beehiiv vs Kit · beehiiv vs Mailchimp

Sources

We earn a commission from some links, at no extra cost to you.

See beehiiv plans paid link

Links marked “paid link” earn us a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you. They never change our numbers or rankings. Disclosure.

FAQ

Is the beehiiv API free?

Yes. beehiiv lists "API Access (excluding Send API)" on its Free plan, and API access is "Yes" on Free, Lite, Pro and Enterprise in its feature table. beehiiv lists no separate API price and no per-call fee: what you pay is the plan itself (Free up to 2,500 subscribers, then Lite or Pro by list size). To create API keys you must be a workspace Owner or Admin and verify your identity with Stripe once.

What is the beehiiv API rate limit?

Per beehiiv's developer docs: 30 requests per minute on Free, 180 on Lite, 500 on Pro and 800 on Enterprise (Enterprise can ask for more). Each API key and each OAuth token has its own allowance, counted in fixed 60-second windows; over the limit you get a 429 error. The pricing page shows the same tiers as Low, Standard, High and Custom.

Which beehiiv plan has the Send API?

Pro and Enterprise. The Send API is the Create post endpoint, which beehiiv's docs say "is available to publications on the Pro and Enterprise plans". Pro starts at $109/month (monthly billing, up to 1,000 subscribers).

Can I send emails through the beehiiv API?

Yes, on Pro and Enterprise, by creating a post with the Create post endpoint (blocks or raw HTML). It always uses beehiiv's fixed email head and required footer; beehiiv says it does not offer 100% custom HTML email. Since August 6, 2026, a request without "status": "confirmed" creates a draft instead of sending.

Does beehiiv have webhooks on the Free plan?

No. Webhooks need a paid plan: 3 on Lite, unlimited on Pro and Enterprise (pricing page and developer docs). Whether Lite's 3 are per publication or per workspace is not stated by beehiiv.

Can I use the beehiiv API during the free trial?

The normal API works on every plan, so yes. For the Send API beehiiv's pages disagree: the pricing page says "Send API (not in trial)", while its free-trial article lists Send API among the Pro features you can use during the 14-day trial (it turns off after the trial unless you upgrade to Pro or Enterprise). Webhooks are usable in the trial and disable after it unless you upgrade to a paid plan.

Does beehiiv charge extra for API calls or overages?

Not stated by beehiiv. Its pricing page and developer docs list no per-request price, no overage fee and no daily or monthly request cap; the only stated limit is the per-minute rate limit per plan. Zapier and Make, which beehiiv supports for no-code integrations, bill you separately under their own plans.

Related guides: beehiiv price increase 2026 · Moving from beehiiv to Kit · Moving from beehiiv to MailerLite · beehiiv vs Kit vs Substack (2026) · Is beehiiv worth it in 2026? Break-even vs Substack, Kit and MailerLite · beehiiv Free plan (2026) · How newsletter platform prices changed 2023–2026 (from archived pricing pages) · How much do beehiiv ads pay? Ad Network CPM, CPC, payouts and break-even vs the Lite plan (2026) · all guides

Comparisons: beehiiv vs Kit · beehiiv vs Substack · Kit vs MailerLite · beehiiv vs MailerLite · Substack vs Ghost · Mailchimp vs MailerLite · Brevo vs MailerLite · Brevo vs Mailchimp · AWeber vs MailerLite · AWeber vs Mailchimp · AWeber vs Kit · Constant Contact vs Mailchimp · Constant Contact vs MailerLite · AWeber vs Constant Contact · ActiveCampaign vs Mailchimp · GetResponse vs Mailchimp · ActiveCampaign vs GetResponse · GetResponse vs MailerLite · beehiiv vs Ghost · Kit vs Substack · Kit vs Mailchimp · beehiiv vs Mailchimp · Kit vs Ghost · Substack vs MailerLite · Ghost vs MailerLite · beehiiv vs AWeber · Substack vs Mailchimp · AWeber vs Substack · AWeber vs Ghost · Ghost vs Mailchimp · AWeber vs GetResponse · AWeber vs ActiveCampaign · AWeber vs Brevo · beehiiv vs Brevo · beehiiv vs Buttondown · beehiiv vs Constant Contact · beehiiv vs ActiveCampaign · Kit vs Flodesk · MailerLite vs Flodesk · beehiiv vs Flodesk · Sender vs MailerLite · Sender vs Mailchimp · Sender vs Brevo · Sender vs Kit · Sender vs EmailOctopus · Moosend vs Mailchimp · Moosend vs MailerLite · Moosend vs Constant Contact · Moosend vs Brevo · Flodesk vs Moosend · Flodesk vs Mailchimp · Flodesk vs Substack · Flodesk vs Constant Contact · Flodesk vs Brevo · MailerLite vs EmailOctopus · EmailOctopus vs Mailchimp · EmailOctopus vs Brevo · EmailOctopus vs Kit · EmailOctopus vs beehiiv · Buttondown vs Substack · Buttondown vs Mailchimp · GetResponse vs Brevo · ActiveCampaign vs Brevo · ActiveCampaign vs Constant Contact · ActiveCampaign vs Kit · ActiveCampaign vs MailerLite · Kit vs Brevo · Constant Contact vs Brevo · Constant Contact vs Kit · GetResponse vs Kit · Klaviyo vs Mailchimp · Klaviyo vs Omnisend · Klaviyo vs Brevo · Klaviyo vs Constant Contact · Klaviyo vs MailerLite · Klaviyo vs Kit · Klaviyo vs ActiveCampaign · Klaviyo vs beehiiv · Klaviyo vs Flodesk · Klaviyo vs GetResponse · AWeber vs Klaviyo · Omnisend vs Mailchimp · Omnisend vs Brevo · Omnisend vs MailerLite · Omnisend vs Kit · Omnisend vs Flodesk · Omnisend vs ActiveCampaign · Omnisend vs beehiiv · Constant Contact vs Omnisend · Klaviyo vs Shopify Email · Shopify Email vs Mailchimp · Omnisend vs Shopify Email · Shopify Email vs Flodesk · Shopify Email vs MailerLite · Mailjet vs Mailchimp · Mailjet vs Brevo · Mailjet vs MailerLite · SendPulse vs Brevo · SendPulse vs Mailchimp · SendPulse vs MailerLite · SendPulse vs Klaviyo · HubSpot vs Mailchimp · HubSpot vs Brevo · HubSpot vs ActiveCampaign · HubSpot vs Constant Contact · Systeme.io vs MailerLite · Systeme.io vs Kit · Systeme.io vs beehiiv · Systeme.io vs GetResponse · Cheapest for 500, 1,000, 2,500, 5,000, 10,000, 25,000 subscribers

Get alerted when beehiiv changes its prices

We re-check beehiiv's and every other newsletter platform's pricing page each week and email you the before/after numbers when a price, limit or fee changes. Plus one monthly cost report. Free. What you get →

Recently flagged: Kit: 25% off the first year of Pro on annual billing (limited-time offer) (20 Oct 2026) · beehiiv renames plans and raises prices (Scale → Lite, Max → Pro) (1 Oct 2026)